My reviews (124)

Easy Garam Masala

Infinitely better than buying it in a jar, this is a quick and authentic garam masala spice mix. Garam masala is best when made with whole spices that have been roasted and ground, but this is a quick and easy substitute that comes a close second.
Reviews (124)


22 May 2018
Reviewed by: Sharpccoraj
I really love the simplicity of this recipe. It's nice when you have all the ingredients if you don't need to substitute anything. It made my buttered chicken taste great
 
27 May 2008
Reviewed by: Gitana
I loved this stuff. I used whole spices though, roasted them together on dry pan until you could smell the aroma and then ground them all up. Was perfect on chicken tandoori and pulav.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ChristineM
I wanted to make Moroccan Lentil Soup from this site and of course couldn't find garam masala at my grocery store. I don't do much Indian cooking at all, and didn't even know if it was a powder or paste or something else. Thankfully did a search, this popped up and my soup is smelling wonderful as it simmers away! I also added this to my "spice mix" list - for Christmas I gave someone little bottles of Taco Seasoning, Tourtiere Spice Mix and my own poultry seasoning mix. Plan on doing the same as part of an upcoming bridal shower gift, but will add a jar of this to it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Anita Dolland
I've used many Garam Masala's in my cooking because my husband is from Punjab and we both enjoy Indian food. I use to make my own Garam Masala but found it too time consuming to make from scratch, I tried this recipe because it used less ingredients than what I am used to cooking with. Sorry but it was lacking in the rich flavour that I am use to. I have also tried some other brands like McCormick's and was disappointed at the blend. I just recently discovered the most amazing Garam Masala when I visited a Farmers Market in Port Moody area close to Vancouver BC. It was amazing, it was a punjabi style garam masala that can be used for hundreds of recipes. It seriously reminded me of my mother-in-laws cooking back in punjab! You can get it online from IndiaBase Canada's website. Sharmila masala's is another brand that I truly love, but its a bit hard to find. Making Garam Masala is an art and often takes several tries before getting it right! Hope this review helped!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: rosichops
This is a great garam marsala. I've used it in many dishes and really like the flavour. Thanks for submitting
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: DarcieA
I had a curry recipe that called for garam masala. I searched the grocery store endlessly (including bulk spices and specialty areas) with no luck. I was so happy to find this "quick fix" on Allrecipes. I thought this was the perfect blend of seasonings- the curry tasted delicious and authentic. I ground my own coriander because I only had whole on hand. Otherwise, left everything the same. Thanks for the recipe- I will use this from now on any time I need garam masala!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Pepper
Why purchase garam masala from a grocery store if you already have the spices on hand? I use this blend in many Indian dishes, and I feel like it makes my cooking even more authentic and "from scratch."
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: frankm7
I bought most of the spices whole and grinded them in the coffee grinder. Used this in my oatmeal (surprisingly good) as well as a chicken thigh marinade by mixing into yogurt and seasoning with salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
I have never purchased garam masala and I didn`t know its flavor. I used this recipe to make Indian dishes. I used all spices, roasted them for 1-2 min (until you could smell the aroma), then ground them. I think, great for use in all Indian recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: SANTIH9
I, too, needed this for the Moroccan Lentil soup. It was easy to make and added with a little sugar and black tea, makes a great, quick Chai beverage! I love this site!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches