My reviews (1,522)

Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

This is a nice rich macaroni and cheese. Serve with a salad for a great meatless dinner. Hope you enjoy it!
Reviews (1522)


26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Julie Olsen
Very creamy and yummy. If you think your sauce is too runny before pouring it over the macaroni, it's not. I was very nervous that my sauce was not thick enough, but once I poured it over the macaroni and baked it, the dish turned out wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Heather S.
I have to laugh at the one who rated this 1 star for the fat and calories... who makes low cal mac & cheese? This is a great recipe. Prepare yourself for a heartattack on a plate but well worth it. I added onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and used crumbled ritz crackers as the topping. I thought the sauce was too runny when I poured it in the pan, but as the others said, it really thickens up when in the oven. My 2 year old loves it as do we. We accompanied it with steamed broccoli for a little healthy upswing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Buffaloe
Rave reviews at my house. Can only give 4 stars though as I followed someone else's tips on reducing milk to 1/2C. Adding 2C evapo. milk and 1/2C sour cream. I decided to double the recipe so that we would have leftovers the next day. I put half the mix in one casserole dish and the other in another dish. Baked one and stored the other un-baked one in the fridge to be put in the oven 1/2 hour before dinner the next day. Do not worry that the sauce seems runny when you add it to the noodles. It thickens up A LOT! Right after the cheese melts add it to the noodles and you're in business.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: nomoredrama31
Rich & Creamy. Looked a little bland, so I added minced garlic (1 tbsp), dry mustard powder (1/2 tsp)& used fresh shredded romano instead of parmesan (if you do use parmesan, use fresh shredded, if you use the grated Kraft kind in the shaker, sauce wont be smooth). Show patience with the roux. If yours came out lumpy, you didnt cook roux right or long enough (stir constantly when cooking roux)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: kkcooks
I had to try this recipe ever since I read the rating critizing it for being loaded with "fat" ie CHEESE... Duh, that's what Mac and cheese is about!! I made it with large elbow macaroni so the sauce got all inside the pasta... thru in an extra 1/2 inch slice of Velveeta and some white pepper, and jazzed up the crumbs by mixing the crumbs, melted butter, paprika, onion powder, salt & pepper and then sprinkling over the top. Very good "old-home" taste!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 May 2007
Reviewed by: lestoby
Very good! Everybody went back for seconds. The youngest male in the house (age 21) insisted on taking a bowl to go while his girlfriend took him to buy a couch (LOL!). The parmesan cheese made the consistency ever so slightly grainy and I might skip this ingredient next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 May 2000
Reviewed by: sweetiepeaz
I agree that a dash of dry mustard is missing from this recipe. Also, if you realllly want a rich taste, try substituting half of the milk with evaporated milk. The evaporated milk gives Mac & Cheese an amazingly rich & creamy taste. Other than those two things, it's pretty good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: AmberStar
This is an amazing base recipe. I boiled the noodles in 1:1 chicken broth and water, added ham and used only one cup of cheddar and added a cup of mozzerella. Wounderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: punkypower
When I made the sauce, it looked like more than what I'd need. But, it bakes up firm and creamy. I made a couple tweaks though - I added about a cup more cheese than what it called for. I also used a mixture of marble cheddar, colby, monterrey jack and parmesan. It still needs something though - maybe some pepper and worchester sauce in the sauce. Crumbled bacon would be yummy too. Will probably make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This turned out a little wierd for me. I make my mom's mac and cheese recipe all the time, and that one is very creamy, even after being baked. This one was creamy until I baked it. It seemed to firm up in the oven a lot, almost dry out a little. I didn't like it at first, but ended up liking it more as I ate it, and had a second helping. I really liked the bread crumbs on top. (I used Panko bread crumbs). Like other reviewers said, it is a little bland, and I even added hot sauce, worchestire sauce, chili powder, garlic powder, garlic powder and spicy brown mustard. It does call for a lot of milk; maybe it needs a little more cheese? All in all, it was easy to make and satisfying, just not spectacular. Would have given it three stars, but my babies loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches