My reviews (126)

Green Tea Layer Cake

This is a light and moist cake that is not too sweet and has a refreshing green tea fragrance. The frosting uses cream cheese but has enough sweetness to mask the sour taste. The matcha (green tea) powder gives it a delicate green hue too. This cake can also be baked as a sheet cake in a 24cmx34cm (9x 13 inch) tin or as 2 separate round cakes in two 24cm (8 inch) round tins. Adjust baking time accordingly.
Reviews (126)


24 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Pete
This recipe rocks. Tips for those who're having a hard time finding green tea powder: you can find those teabag versions easily at your local market, cut and empty those into a blender, and voila you got yourself green tea powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Kara
I made this for a party for the first time yesterday and it was a hit. I didn't have green tea powder so I took the advice of another user and bought Stash Green Chai tea bags, opened each bag, poured the loose tea into a coffee grinder and ground to a fine powder. The results were wonderful and everyone at the party commented on how great the taste was...green tea with a hint of spice and not too sweet. I had to double the frosting, however. I made these into cupcakes so I reduced the baking time to 15 minutes and they came out perfect. I will definitely make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: justwildbeat
I used this as a cupcake recipe (due to the lack of cake pans) and it turned out very well. The cakes were moist and the icing complimented them nicely. Things to watch out for: It is recommended to use matcha/green tea powder and NOT the milk tea because the color and the flavour will not be as distinct. Also be careful as to the amount of powder you add to the icing. I judged it by eye to keep it a light (minty) green colour because if you add to much it'll end up looking like a Ninja Turtle . . .
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 May 2005
Reviewed by: AVIENDHABAKES
Oh, how I LOVE this cake!!! It's taken me a few months to make this -- I FINALLY decided to splurge & buy the matcha (which, by the way, if you are not near a store that sells matcha, you can go to www.teavana.com). The green color looked great. The frosting is marvelous. I thought the amount of sweetness was just right. I added a little extra matcha & vanilla--very slight amount & the only other change I made was to use all regular flour (that's what I had on hand). The cake is moist & wonderful. I kept it refrigerated in a sealed container. I happen to love green tea...not everyone does. Next time I may increase the frosting ingredients by 1/4. Yummy!! Thanks Suki!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Deborah
I just want to warn people not to do as I did, and for lack of green powder, use the tea from green tea bags. It doesn't taste like anything. I'm still giving it five stars because the cake's texture was delicious and makes a great plain cake even without the green tea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: greentea
This cake is SO GOOD!!! It's moist and not overly sweet, and the frosting is delicious. I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the oil, and added an extra tsp. of matcha (so 5 tsp. total). Also, I used 2 tsp. of vanilla and soy milk instead of regular. I didn't have matcha on hand, so I used exactly 10 teabags of green tea and grounded it in a blender. That was enough powder for the entire cake, including the frosting. I did have to double the amount of frosting to cover both layers, and I also reduced the powdered sugar to 1 cup instead of 1 1/4. Definitely add a few drops of green food coloring; it looks much more appetizing! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Kaliko
Yummy!!! I love green tea anything so when I saw this I tried it the very next day; I didn't have any cake pans, so I made 2 batches of 12 cupcakes with the batter. The cake came out a beautiful green/brown color, it was wonderful itself. The frosting was also really great, but next time I'll probably increase it by 1/4 so I don't have to scrap the bowl for the last cupcake. The only other change that I made was to use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour. For the cupcakes I used the reccommended temperature and baked the cupcakes for 15 mins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: HOOLIE
Very nice cake! I baked it in a Bundt pan and sprinkled in some sesame seeds before pouring in the batter; this made an attractive "crust" on the cake. Also, I skipped the frosting and just served it with a simple dollop of whipped cream. If you want your whole meal to have an Asian theme, this is a perfect, light finish to a dinner rich in flavors of soy, garlic and ginger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2008
Reviewed by: Faith08
I used this recipe to make cupcakes instead of one cake. Next time I make it I will use a lot less oil and less sugar (I thought it was a little too sweet). I doubled the maccha in the icing and cake, and will do that next time too. I might try a different icing next time, this one was a little too runny and apparently I'm not a good fan of cream cheese frosting (this was first time I tried it). Other than that I liked it, loved the green tea flavor! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: LOLULUVE
This is a very tasty cake! The green color showed up beautifully. the green tea flavor is light, so maybe you can add more depending on taste. It is very spongy & moist. I would definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches