My reviews (36)

Ube-Macapuno Cake

This is a great Filipino purple yam cake.
Reviews (36)


Comment:
11 Sep 2010
millet said:
have a lil' question... what do you mean by 1 cup ube "cooked and finely grated" do i have to cook it first? how can i grate it if i cooked it? or is the frozen ok? thank you!!!
 
15 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Mary-RoseAbella
I didn't add the light corn syrup but i added another 2/3 cup of sugar instead. The cake was very moist.
 
21 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: always_hungry
Note: Ube (pronounced "OOH-bee") is also available in a jar, precooked and mashed. It can also be found in a packet in the frozen section. Many Asian stores sell either form of ube. Sometimes its labeled as "ube" or "purple yam".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Cooks4Happiness
I love purple yams and was looking for a purple yam cake recipe after I tried it at a birthday party, and wow! I love this recipe! I made them into cupcakes and baked them for 13 minutes. So delicious, moist, and fluffy. I added the 1/2 cup of macapuno to the frosting (and used condensed milk instead of evaporated milk) and it was great (although very very sweet). I also didn't add color to the frosting because white was a nice contrast. I also had to double the food coloring in the cake batter because it wasn't purple enough (was grayish). This cake was a lot of work but well worth it, I LOVE it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: IAgardener
NOTE: Use condensed milk instead of the evaporated and the icing will turn out. If you don't beat the batter too long the cake is not dry and doesn't crack. This was a work of love to make as is any from scratch recipe. Yes, I am a filipina.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Lorio
I used ube powder instead of grated ube and added 1/4 cup more milk to the mixture because of it. The cake turned out great and it tasted good too. I didn't use the frosting included with this recipe, though. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: MESHA9722
I made this cake for christmas eve dinner. I didn't make it a three layer cake. I used a spring form pan and just cooked it for 55min. the butter frosting for some reason just didn't work for me so i mad my own butter frosting. I served very small slices so as to not kill any one.lol(all the eggs and butter) But my family loved it. Would make it again if i was doing a philipino theme dinner again
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: GADS
I tried the recipe and followed it word for word. The cake was dry and it was too much work.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Bes
I have to say one thing. Ube is one of those foreign dishes that is difficult to appreciate. You either have to be very open minded or have a native filipino tongue (assuming all native filipinos have eaten ube one time or other in their lifetime) to really enjoy this dish and appreciate ube for what it is. Thank you for providing this recipe to allrecipes.com!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: sweatybetty
the cake was dry, i do a lot of baking, the recipe is just like a chiffon cake minus the corn syrup and ube. i'm sorry just was disappointed, esp. on the icing. i should have followed my instinct that the ing. should not be equal volumes. i ended doing another batch of butter icing the proper one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches