My reviews (186)

Madeleines

Have a go at making these classic French scallop-shaped cakes. They're like a cross between a biscuit and a cake. If you can't find a madeleine mould you can try baking them in mini-muffin pans. Great for gifts, Christmas, Easter or any time that calls for a small, cute cake!
Reviews (186)


12 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: DeniseAshford
LOVE THESE, I ALSO MADE A CHANGE, I USED 20G OF COCOA POWDER & REDUCED THE FLOUR BY THE SAME AMOUNT, I ALSO CHANGED THE LEMON PEEL TO ORANGE PEEL, CHOC ORANGE MADELEINES, YUMMY......
 
26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: simon
Easy and precise. For those who have similar questions like me. You need a madeleines pan. I got mine at Bed bath and beyond. I used muffins pan earlier and it was a disaster. If you wonder whether baking powder is needed like in other recipe, and the answer is no. Make sure the eggs mix is thick before you fold in flour and butter, it took about 10 minutes at high speed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: fyrcrakr
These were superb, and I have to disagree with the reviewer who said a good Madeleine should be dense and buttery (like the ones from Starbucks). Have you ever had a REAL French Madeleine? They're lighter than air. Starbucks serves very nice molded pound cakes, NOT Madeleines.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Iolanthe
I am a real beginner, but I had no trouble with this recipe at all. The hard part, actually, was selecting a madeleine pan - there were many different ones to choose from at the cooking supply store, from $10.00 - $79.00, depending on size and material. I bought the $10.00 metal one (which makes one dozen 3" madeleines), and it worked absolutely fine. So no need to spend a fortune to get good results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: xiaocupcake
These are the best madeleines I have ever made. This was the pastry that Marcel Proust enjoyed for inspiration - and it seems to have worked for him! The only problem with the recipe is that it yields so few of the cookies. I doubled the recipe last time and I only made about 16 servings. My madeleine pan is a little bit larger, but still, the cookies were gone in less than fifteen minutes. Usually a good thing, but I had wanted to enjoy a couple later. I added a touch of honey and I thought it turned out to be phenomenal. Good luck and thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: melbatoast
Perfect recipe!! Whole family loved these delicate cookies. I bought my pan a year ago and finally made madeleines. Like other reviewer said, no need to by expensive non stick pan, grease and flour as directed and they pop out fine. I even greased and dusted with sugar instead of flour, worked great. These are authentic in taste, light and airy. If you want dense ones (like what starbucks sells), you can double the butter; but then you are really eating mini pound cakes, not madeleines. I had to beat the eggs/sugar mixture the full 10 minutes. I think this is the first recipe I reviewed that was 100% accurate and did not need one thing changed to perfect!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: KATSINTHEKITCHEN
I used part cake flour (about one third of the total) owing to a Cook's Illustrated recipe and I added 1/4tsp orange flower water. They were heavenly. And they looked so perfect that they could have come from a bakery. Thanks for this keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: SamnLibby
This recipe is horrible! Does not taste like Madeleines at all. Madeleines are not supposed to be light and airy. They should be dense and butter-y, like Starbucks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Jill
THESE WERE GREAT! I made them for my social studies class and they loved them. I did the chocolate version. They are delicious, light, fluffy, and perfect in general. MMMMM.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: CPA
Very Good. Used my kitchen aid mixture. Did not fold in flour and zest. Just threw it in and blended it a little. Update: 1/1/10 I would definitely recommend folding in the zest and flour. It will allow your batter to stay fluffy. My daughter and I visited the French Pastry School in Chicago and were taught how to make them. The key is to butter and flour every nook and cranny of the madeleine pan, so they come out perfectly shaped showing those deep ridges. If you get the belly bump, that's considered perfect. I never knew that, I thought they were incorrectly done if you had a bump. Well, those are tips straight from the horses mouth. Oh, I used a metal pan from Sur La Table. I'm one of those people who are wary of these non-stick/silicone/caphalon pans/cooking utensils. Its more work, but our grandparents did it, so can we!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches