My reviews (177)

Barbecued Chicken Adobo

This is a very tasty and easy-to-make Filipino chicken dish made with soy sauce, garlic and vinegar. I can just as easily double or triple the chicken in this recipe to serve guests at a party. Serve over rice with just a little of the sauce (not too much).
Reviews (177)


Comment:
04 Dec 2012
 
16 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: jopve2024
it was tasty
 
23 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: syakina
 
02 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ISABELANGELES
I've made Adobo many times - for those who found that it was too salty, this has to do with the brand of soy sauce you use. If you buy Kikoman for example use 1/2 cup less than the recipe calls for or add more water. If you buy a Filipino brand like Silver Swan then follow the recipe as is and it won't be salty at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: BUNSY
This is a flavorful dish with a garlicy-tangy sauce. I substituted brown sugar for the honey and it came out fine. Some suggestions: Trim the fat from the chicken, otherwise the sauce gets a little oily. When returning the mixture to a boil, do not cover the saucepan - allow the sauce to evaporate until it is reduced to about half its original volume. The sauce will have a glaze-like consistency. I don't have a grill, so I quick-pan-fried the chicken in a little oil and minced garlic - just enough to make the outside crisp. Tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
This recipe was great! By accident, I overcooked the chicken so it was little on the dry side but still very good. Next time, I'll just have to keep a better eye on the cooking time and all will be fine! Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: BloominGranny
This is scrumptious. I was raised with Filipino families and this is exactly how this dish is made. It has the perfect amount of soy sauce. You can also cook this all in one pan in the oven. Place all the ingredients in a baking pan being sure not to crowd the chicken. Bake at 375degrees for 50 minutes until most liquid is evaporated and the meat is falling off the bone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: keaata
Decreased soy sauce to 1 cup, increased water to 2 cups, and used rice vinegar. Very unique but even the picky 11-yr old son ejoys this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: MYRTS78
OK here's the deal: This recipe is WAY too salty. Why hasn't anyone else noticed this before? I thought I was going to have to throw away the dish but I just kept the chicken and not the sauce. The amount of soy sauce is way too much for the recipe, try cutting down on it if you make this chicken. Another recipe I used before from all recipes is "Baked Teriyaki Chicken" submitted by Marian Collins, it was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NOX
I used brown sugar for the honey, omitted the grilling, and used an additional bay leaf and it was pretty close to the Adobo I grew up with, just a littly oily. I added some chicken breast as well, but found that it was too strongly flavored so next time I'll either use all darkmeat or cut the vinegar a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches