My reviews (9,970)

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping is what makes these banana muffins stand apart from the ordinary. They're scrumptious!
Reviews (9970)


11 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Chanthida
I made these muffins many times. It become a staple in my recipe box. Thumbs up.
 
08 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Banannalady
Loved it!!! Added 1 tsp vanilla. That's all I changed. For us Americans 190 Celsius = 375 Fahrenheit 90g = 4 and a Half Tablespoonn 20g= 1 And A Half Tablespoon
 
27 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: K. Lynn
Superb! Following other reviewers' suggestions, I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon to the muffin batter. I also used canola oil in place of the melted butter and 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown. In the crumb topping I increased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. These are very good and will go in my 'keepers' file!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Butterfly Flutterby
OH MY WORD!!!! I rate this 10 Stars!!!!! Made it exactly to recipe and it is outstanding! Hubby said that this is a must recipe for when we open a Bed and Breakfast. I used 4 small to medium sized very ripe bananas and it made 11 muffins. The topping was just the right amount. Thanks so much for submitting this ~now~ family favorite and staple!!! Delicious doesn't do these justice! Enjoy! NOTATION: 1-10-04 I wanted to update and tell you all that I made a double batch today and it made 4 mini loaves which baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Hope this helps someone out there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: moonlight sonata
I had a bunch of very ripe bananas, so I decided to make these muffins. DELICIOUS! Following the suggestions of others, I used 1/3 cup of oil instead of butter. This made 12 generous-sized muffins. They melted in my mouth. Yum! And, for what it's worth, 1/8 cup equals 2 tablespoons!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Jjjr
Exscelennt recipe with a few tweaks. I recplaced the baking soda with ground lamb and the bananas with sea urchin. I also used 4 cups of salt and substituted the butter for ketchup. Everyone raved how delicious these banana muffins were. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: TRISHA SANTIAGO
I just baked these this morning before coming to work, and they are DELICIOUS!!! The only alterations I made was that I added about 1 tsp. cinnamon to the muffin batter, and I also took the suggestion of others and used 1/3 c. oil instead of the butter. The recipe made 12 BIG muffins, I baked them exactly 20 minutes, and they came out perfect. The muffins are moist and not too sweet. The crumb topping worked great and adds the perfect touch. Thanks for a great recipe Lisa, I'll definitely be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
These muffins are very good. To make them healthier, I replaced 1/2 c. flour w/ 1/2 c. whole wheat flour; used low fat margarine instead of butter; cut the sugar to 1/2 cup; used 1/4 tsp. cinnamon for more flavor. Muffins did very moist and flavorful. Will make again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: MOONANGEL
These muffins are so moist and tasty! I always have a hard time with muffins sticking to the pan or the muffin cups. These slide out perfectly. I decided to add the crumb topping about 5 minutes before taking them out of the oven. This prevents the crumb topping from melting into the muffin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Patty M.
Ok - to address all the people who are substituting oil for butter - stop doing it! You're compromising the taste. To make sure your muffins are nice and moist just add an extra egg. I made these last night. I used to make Extreme Banana Nut Bread from this site, but this is the one I'll make from now on. As I said, a few small adjustments and the muffins are perfect. Besides using butter and an extra egg, I used brown sugar and omitted the white sugar and it was plenty sweet. I put a tablespoon of vanilla in the batter and extra cimmamon. I also used a bit more flour for the topping and was very liberal with the cinnamon. It didn't sink into the muffin or get soggy the next day as some people have written. I bake all the time and these were almost all devoured by the kids and hubby in a matter of minutes. I'm doubling the recipe today to make teacher gifts. Putting them in festive baskets and adding boxes of tea as a nice treat for the Christmas break.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches