My reviews (1,193)

Mulligatawny Soup

This aromatic Anglo-Indian soup is a curry house staple; why not try it homemade? The name mulligatawny comes from two Tamil words meaning 'pepper' and 'water'. How peppery you make it is up to you!
Reviews (1193)


26 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: FranPowell
Wow...this is hands down the best soup I have ever made! I added extra madras curry powder but other than that used the exact recipe. Making a double batch next time! Tastes even better the next day!
 
16 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: MonicaMoreira
Loved it and easy to make. Recipe very well written. I will share with family and friends
 
15 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: H
This is good low-calorie soup if you do it right. I omitted the butter, flour, rice, cream and pepper (hello, its hot already!) I instead used 2 tsp of olive oil for the butter. Instead of using flour, I used 1 cup of potatoes, diced fine (in place of rice), since it will thicken up a stew anyway. I added 1% fat milk instead of cream, and passed around light sour cream for everyone to dollop on top (which totally was delicious, don't leave it out!) I used a total of 200g of raw chicken as well. The calories for me turned out to be 58 per 100g (I weighed the whole thing after cooking and then calculated a 100g serving.) fat 1.2g, carbs 6g, and protein 5.8g. (These calcs do not include the sour cream on top.) I'll definitely make it again, husband gave it a 10/10! And I grated the carrots, since I'm not a fan of them in dice form.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Amy
Fantastic soup....just like wine, it gets better with time. Two or three days later the soup tasted even better than the first day. In my opinion, the cream is completely unnecessay...sooo good w/o it.(and less fattening too) Even my 8 year old and 18month old gobbled it up asking for more...definately double the recipe, or triple and freeze. Thank you so much!UPDATE: I have made this soup about 10 times now....I always double the recipe, add 3 tablespoons of yellow curry (so much more flavor) and I cut the apples in larger cubes cuz you can taste them so much more like that, and I use brown rice instead of white and just let it simmer longer. SO GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Alison D.
Really delicious! As is, a rich, decadent first course/appetizer. I admit, though, that I upped the curry to 2 tsp and added cayenne, as another reviewer suggested. I also added pre-cooked brown rice to the soup, rather than raw white rice, because I have a lot of extra in the fridge. I also minced the apple, so my cooked-fruit-shy husband wouldn't notice. He didn't have a clue! Updating my review here: I have since made this chunkier and another time pureed. We like it best either pureed or very finely chopped.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: BRANGIE
Should be 10 stars. I made a HUGE batch of this based on the reviews, and am SO glad I did. I tried it before adding part cream/part coconut milk, and it was good and flavorful, but the creamy mixture brought it all together wonderfully! The house smelled great for more than a day. I LOVE this! - adding to original review - I used a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture of red and yellow curries, and also added the same amount of Garam Masala as I did the curry. I have also stopped using butter, and switched to coconut oil and all coconut milk instead of cream. Pinot Nior was a perfect wine to have with this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: jenfer
I took this basic recipe and added a few things I had around. 1 clove garlic, handfull of chopped fresh spinach, 1/2 cup diced mushrooms were added to the veggies. Then when it was finished I removed 1 cup and liquified it to make the soup creamier & left out the cream completely. Wonderful taste and nowhere near the fat & calories.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: ivyguppy
Delicious recipe. The only change I made was I shredded the apple with a cheese grater instead of chopping it up. The apples melted right into the soup and the soup was de-lish. (I just didn't care for the texture of cooked, softened apple chunks in my soup)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Natalie Miller
Excellent! I doubled the curry and used 1/2 and 1/2 and it tastes just as good but with fewer calories. I also used a rotiseree chicken and it adds a lot of great flavor to the soup. I also add about a cup more broth because I also add more carrots and rice. Really great recipe! Thanks so much! My husband begs for this soup all of the time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 May 2003
Reviewed by: ROCKABILLYFILLY
Yummy! Wow this soup is AWESOME. It's a great size recipe for one person and some reasonable leftovers!I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream and it was still remarkable. I plan to add this to my regular menu planning!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches