My reviews (204)

Slow Cooker Veggie Chilli

This is a chilli recipe loaded with vegetables. Garnish with sour cream and grated Cheddar cheese, if desired.
Reviews (204)


20 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: FROGGYOGA
I made the Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili instead of this one and it was a big mistake. That one was bland. This recipe is so good and easy. The 1/3 cup chili pepper is too hot for me, but I still eat it. I cry into my bowl, and still can't put it down. Chili heat and preference vary by brand and person, so vary it to suit you. The way the flavors blend is perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was very good. I had to change some things according to my tastes or what I had on hand. I used a can of black beans and a can of white kidney beans instead of garbanzo. I omitted the zucchini and added 2/3 cup frozen white corn. I used 2 14 oz. cans of petite diced tomatoes. I don't think I even had 1/3 cup chili powder in the house; I only used 2-3 tablespoons. I added about a cup of chicken broth because the mixture seemed a little dry and I needed to use it. Omitted salt. Served with light sour cream and sharp cheddar. I really enjoyed it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: NRGUPTA
Terrific! I like spicy food and this chili had the perfect amount of kick. I added corn and used both kidney beans and chick peas (garbanzos). I ended up putting my slow-cooker on high most of the time, maybe b/c I'm impatient, but ended up cooking for 7 hrs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: becky.m.
Great recipe!I've made vegetable chili before, but it was never this colorful, with such a great variety of veggies. I prepared the cut vegetables the day before. My slow cooker was being used for something else that day, so a few hours before dinner,I threw the veggies, and beans into a pot on the stove, brought to a boil, and let simmer until dinner. I doubled the recipe for my family of 6 plus we had leftovers. I added 3 cans of light and dark kidney beans. I did not drain the beans, the chili really needed all that liquid to come to a simmer.I pulsed the whole tomatoes in the blender a couple times, and added another can of diced tomatoes.I doubled everything except the chili powder.I used 1 Tbsp. and it was still a bit spicy but not too spicy for the kids.It was sooo good! We topped it with shredded cheese and served this with cornbread.I will definitely make this again, next time in the slow cooker!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: dianna
This was good but had a little too much chili powder. My husband and I enjoyed it mixed with white rice. Very tasty when served over rice. The longer you cook it the better it taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: ALLwayz_hungry
Original recipe is pretty good. I used crushed tomatoes for a thicker more chili like consistency. And corn instead of zuccini, personal choice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: polar905
It was a hit, and the people I served it too usually prefer meat dishes. I did make one change though, I swapped out the zucchini and added 1 can of kidney beans, and I added 1 can of corn (not creamed), and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: pookers68
This is a very quick recipe that is both filling and has a wonderful flavor. The variety of vegetables combine to make a savory chili (non-vegetarians won't even miss the meat, I bet). The simplicity of throwing everything in the crockpot is something to LOVE! And it's so nutritious. Your body will thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: DAN BOWMAN
A very tasty recipe. A lot of vegetarian chili's lack in taste, but this recipe comes the closest to capturing the true chili taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
15 Sep 2008
BURGANDY8 said:
Used different ingredients. This was very good. I had to change some things according to my tastes or what I had on hand. I used a tin of black beans and a tin of kidney beans instead of chickpeas. I omitted the courgette and added sweetcorn. I used 2 400g tins of chopped tomatoes. I only used 2-3 tablespoons chilli powder. I added about 200ml of chicken stock because the mixture seemed a little dry and I needed to use it. Omitted salt. Served with light soured cream and grated cheddar. I really enjoyed it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK | Ireland)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches