My reviews (37)

Simple Pasta Sauce

This is a delicious simple sauce which goes with anything. Serve over pasta, or use it for lasagne or pizza sauce. Freeze in small portions so you always have some on hand.
Reviews (37)


16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: memejw
My favorite is the Best Marinara Yet on this site. This one is good too, just a little plain and my fiance said too tangy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: MauiLuvr
I was very disappointed in this sauce. A few more herbs would make the difference I think. I probably won't make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: BSAUNDER
This is great if you add 3 chopped chicken breast to sauce
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: q
This is a great sauce particularly becacuse it's not runny. I used mine for meatloaf sandwiches so I was looking for somehting thick. The extra freezes well and complements bread sticks or cheese sticks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This is a great base recipe to bend and make more personal. I sauteed fresh minced onion in with the garlic and I added a good amount of basil and oregano as well as red pepper flake and a pinch of brown sugar for sweetness. The longer this cooks, the better it gets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
I used concentrated crushed tomatoes for a smoother sauce in this recipe. I added a small amount of sauteed garlic and italian seasonings. It still was a little bland to me. I will continue to try the other marinara recipes on this site for "the one".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 May 2006
Reviewed by: ANDREALEEV
a really great sauce! i like lots of spices so to this recipe by the letter, i added fresh basil, oregano and marjoram from my herb garden. I also grow parsley, so that was fresh as well. My husband said this was even better because of the undertones the red wine added. It has replaced my usual recipe. I served it with turkey meatballs, pasta and snack size pieces of fried polenta with fresh parm cheese sprinkled on top (ala Giada-for dipping in the sauce of course). An easy and magnifico sauce! highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: MMOAN
Quartering the tomatoes so that they melt into the sauce is an improvement, but this is an excellent sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: T-Bone
Mamma mia! This is-a mighty pizza sauce! It was like making sweet love to a tomato all over again. So tasty, it brought me way back to the good olden days, a week ago (sigh). It was a very delicious sauce; I recommend it to those that want to have an out of body experience. :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: explorrerr
THIS is THE BEST marinara sauce EVER!! .. I use crushed tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes, and mix everything as it's heating up directly in the saucepan .. no need to use a blender at all .. (just find/choose a chunkier canned crushed tomato for the best consistency) .. LOVE IT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches