My reviews (23)

Filipino Oxtail Stew (Oxtail Kare Kare)

This is traditional Filipino dish is always the best for fiestas and holidays. Serve over hot cooked rice.
Reviews (23)


23 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: DreadPirateRoberts
The dish is traditionally made somewhat bland-tasting or unsalted so it can be eaten with bagoong (salted shrimp paste). The combination is perfect with rice.
 
02 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Lorie C. Harding
This is my all-time favourite Filipino dish! I always have my dad make it when I visit home This recipe is pretty much how I make mine, however, there are a few difference: 1) I also add a pound of stewing beef to the oxtail to make it "meatier", 2) I don't use bok choy and it still has enough vegetables in it, 3) I mix the peanut butter right into the broth - the heat melts it right away, 4) I like using crunchy peanut butter for more texture. Great recipe! Everyone should try it
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: mieshka
This is basically how I make mine. It's one of my favorite filipino dishes. And it can be served with a dollop of shrimp paste. For coloring, you can add achuete to the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Anne
Delicious! I was skeptical about the peanut butter but it was absolutely wonderful. Will definitely make this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2010
Reviewed by: Lauren Foster-Catan
Made this for my Filipino husband. He said it was exactly right. Very authentic. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Niña
My favorite Filipino Dish
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2009
very good recipe, almost like Momma's! Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Diggy's_gram
I made this exactly as the recipe stated;and it was very good, but I felt something was missing. I would have given it a 3-star rating after the first attempt... However, I made it a second time, with the following changes/additions: First, in addition to the oxtails, I added about a pound of beef stew meat. (I am matriarch to a family of carnivores!) Then, I browned all of the meat at high heat....using half canola and half olive oil, and I lightly salted and peppered it. This step is so important (to me) in order to flavor the broth! Then I added about a cup of red wine to de-glaze the pot, scraping all of the little crispies from browning the meat. From this point, I followed the recipe pretty closely. (Pretty closely, because I also added fresh Thai basil and marjoram when I added the veggies.) I served it over brown rice, with a wonderful crusty Portuguese bread...it was really an international meal by the time I finished with it! All of my changes bumped the recipe to a 5-star, but I don't know how authentic it is now! Thanks for the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: VIVNIDHI
Used veggie burgers instead of the beef. Liked it !
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: saraht
This is one of my favorite foods--I daydream about it when I know I'm going to have it for dinner! One thing that really helps it be excellent is to use BEEF BROTH or BEEF BOUILLON instead of plain water! I also put some cayenne pepper in, and we eat it over rice--YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches