My reviews (18)

Maja Blanca (Coconut Pudding)

This is a popular dessert among Filipinos. It can be served with different presentations. Ordinarily, when served in the Philippines, it will contain small kernels of sweet corn inside and topped with flakes of roasted coconut meat. Often it will also have shredded Cheddar cheese on top."
Reviews (18)


29 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: melasalvador
I have never made maja blanca before and have no idea what the basic ingredients are except for coconut milk. So when I first saw this ingredient, I tried it out and it tasted so good - except it was not creamy enough for my taste. I know for a fact that substituting milk for a dessert yields to a creamier dessert so I used these substitutions from the base ingredients: 3/4 cup milk instead of water, 1/2 cup condensed milk instead of sugar, 1/2 cup of coconut milk to dissolve the cornstarch instead of water. I also used fresh adult coconuts, or niyog. Milked it first with 1 cup of tepid water for every 2 cups of coconut meat to make the "latik" and then 1 cup tepid water for every cup of coconut meat for the base of the maja blanca. It came out creamy but not overpowerly sweet. Added freshly grated meat of young coconuts and corn kernels to break the milky taste. INCREDIBLY GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Loralee
While it was very tasty, the overall texture of the pudding was too firm for my taste; next time I would put in more coconut milk and less cornstarch. On the plus side, it was very quick and easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: yoyi
This is the exact recipe of what i remember maja blanca to be. Very easy to make, with simple ingredients, and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Royall Clark
Nice recipe. I made this as a double recipe for a large group. Did read the reviews and made some changes. I used milk instead of water and cutback 25% on the sugar (1/4c on a bubble recipe) At the party I presented this at was a man from the Philippines, and he said this was just about what his mother made back home. Nice compliment! He also said that quite often his mom would add a little coarse sugar to the top. He also like the creamier texture from using milk rather than the water. Next time I will use the full amount of the sugar as I felt that for a dessert it just needed a little more. Also I would use a bit more coconut on top and add some coconut extract to the mixture. Very quick and easy dessert to make. One other thing I would like to try with this recipe, leave out the corn and coconut topping and add some raspberries with a raspberry puree drizzled on top! Yummy sounding??!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Maddie's mom
I have tasted a lot of maja blanca before (it was one of my favorite sweets!), but this recipe was one of the best. I did change a little for measurements and ingredients. Instead of using 1/2 cup of water (this makes the maja blanca too firm) for cornstarch mixture, I used milk instead. Same thing with the 3/4 cup of water, I used coconut milk on it, so its 1 3/4 cup of coconut milk all in all for boiling. Try this recipe and its really good!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: fader
Very good recipe, it is sweet so adjust the quantity of sugar accordingly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Letlet
One of my favorite, but dont know the receipe. Thanks...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Sabray
Maja Blanca was okay. This pudding had a very lite flavor to it, however, I did not care for flavor and did not like the way the texture came out. I felt pudding taste a lot better warm than chilled. Not something I would look forward to preparing in the future.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Frances
I made this recipe twice already. The first time I did it exactly the way it is posted. I can honestly say it was good. Now, the second time I made it I didn't add the corn. I added little pieces of pineapples and cherries. When I say it was delicious it was amazing. I made one for work and everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Liz Gzuman
Made this today let me tell that this recipe is soooo easy and came out perfect!!! Thanks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.161.40.41