My reviews (298)

Authentic French Meringues

Authentic French Meringues from a patisserie in France.
Reviews (298)


Comment:
04 Apr 2010
YouMustBeMad said:
Something else. Do without the wooden spoon, and bake for 30 minutes less.
 
Comment:
04 Apr 2010
YouMustBeMad said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Added 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/4 cups
 
04 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: YouMustBeMad
Very easy to make, and the end result is an airy meringue that melts nicely in your mouth. I added a couple of tweaks as shown above, but they are to my own preference.
 
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Moe
There are two types of meringue; soft and hard. The difference between the two is the amount of sugar added to the egg whites. Soft meringue is made with only a small amount of sugar and is used as a topping for pies and cakes. The more sugar in the recipe the crisper the cookie will be. If you cut too far back on the sugar the cookies will be more like marshmallows. Hope this helps clear up the sugar debate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Chef in Training
I am in school for baking and pastry and this is the closest thing I have seen yet to how I have learned to make meringues properly. My suggestion for those of you having problems with it taking so long to make would be to let the eggs reach room temp before you try to whip them. It makes the whipping process go much faster.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: JKERNS81
These are just like the gourmet meringues you buy at the specialty grocery stores. They are soo yummy! I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and increased sugar by 1/4 cup to make up for the added liquid. I also set my oven to 185, instead of putting a spoon in the door. It worked great. Next time I will definitely add a different flavor or chocolate chips! Also, I used parchment paper on the pan instead of butter and flour. This is a much better way to go because they fall right off the paper and you have no residue on the bottom of the cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: allison125
Foolproof and delicious. DO NOT REDUCE THE AMOUNT OF SUGAR. The only thing that I did differently was that I scraped half of a vanilla bean into the egg whites when they reached the stiff peak stage. (If you add liquid vanilla extract, you will have to up the sugar content, as the extra liquid WILL affect the outcome of the cookies.) As many former reviewers have noted, the egg whites take a good 15-20 minutes to reach the stiff peak stage with an electric mixer. (My KitchenAid Pro 600 took about 16-17 minutes.) Next time, I'm going to try folding some toasted coconut into the finished mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: LowFatLady
I have made this recipe several times. I add 1/2 t. flavored extract to the mixture. I make the cookie larger with an indention in the middle. After they have cooled I use a coordinated flavor of chilled pie filling (spooned into the indention) and serve as a dessert. In other words if I use lemon extract in the cookie I use lemon pie filling for the dessert. I also add a dollop of whip cream on the top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: CHECKERB
I don't have an extremely sweet tooth, and thought this original recipe is way too sweet. So I cut the sugar to half and then I added 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar to compensate. My husband's grandmother use to make meringues for him, and he said it is exactly like he remembered it. So obviously the lack of sugar did not affect the sweetness so much as the rigidity of the meringues. But the technique of this recipe is perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: TheKook
This is a no fail recipe. As a chef, I'll give some tips for any beginners out there. Take a papertowel and about 1 tsp of white distilled vinegar and wipe your stainless bowl with it. This makes sure there are no oils that will interfere with your egg whites. Further, I always add about 1/2 tsp of baking powder. It doesn't change the taste and it makes the whites stiffen up quickly, especially if you don't have time to let the egg whites come completely to room temp. After the egg whites were completely stiff, I added a dash of cinnamon and butter extract. I topped them with mini-morsels and made them smaller so that they cook faster. Hope this helps! Great recipe and super tasty meringues!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches