My reviews (87)

Pan de Sal I

Crispy and delicious dinner rolls from the Philippines.
Reviews (87)


13 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Mikai
I'm glad that I found the site to refresh my mind for exploring anything about cooking
 
06 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: GOTOHELLER
I've made this recipe a few times now, and each time added more sugar and salt (it was quite bland the first time). Adding 2/3 cup sugar and 2 tsp salt makes it delicious! Just like I remember. Also don't forget to sprinkle the tops with bread crumbs before baking to make it authentic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Anna the Baker
My first attempt and it was perfect! I was expecting it to be really dense and hard but it came out soft and nice. It tastes a little bland but I think that's how authentic pan de sal should taste like. Perfect with a slice of cheddar cheese -- my all time favorite Filipino breakfast! *JUST A TIP: Make sure that the water is warm to the touch, not boiling hot. Otherwise, the yeast will die & the bread will not rise at all. Thanks for the recipe Michele!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: christy
my kids love it, i just feel that something is missing, it's kinda hard too i want my pan de sal crunchy outside but soft inside, i follow the recipe what did i do wrong?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Daniel
My wife always craves for pan de sal and we have to drive 30 miles just to get them pre-packed and cold so I was glad to find this recipe online. My wife and kids loved it so much...I've made this 10 times in 2 months...no kidding! Here are the additions/changes I made to the original recipe based on other reviews and to suit our tastes: replace 1/4 cup of vegetable oil with 2 tbsp of butter and 2 tbsp vegetable oil; add 4 egg yolks (yes, no whites); 1 cup of sugar; 2 tsps salt; 1 pack or 2 1/4 tsps of active dry yeast and cut in logs about the size of 1 large AA egg. If you want your pan de sal dense, just let the logs rise for about 30mins to 1 hour. The longer you let it rise the less dense or softer the pan de sal gets. I let it rise for as long as 2 hours. If you want it brown or crunchy on top, lightly spread the top of the logs with vegetable oil. When the vegetable oil drips to the sides of the logs, that's too much and it will burn the bottom of the bread. Sprinkle some bread crumbs over the vegetable oil to make it more authentic. It takes a long time to prepare this but it's worth it... I like it that I can make something my wife really loves. Enjoy! Thanks for posting this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: whimzy
Thanks Michelle! I've used this recipe 3 times in the last 5 weeks and I just can't have enough. The crust was crispy and the inside just airy enough but not too dense. Tastes really good. This very much resembles what is known as "putok" pan de sal in the Philippines. I freeze cooled pan de sal so 1 recipe lasts a week. I just grab however many I need from the freezer and put it straight in the toaster oven (no thawing!)on low to medium heat for 5-7 minutes and it's like having fresh baked pan de sal everytime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: PETITGABRIELLE
My husband swears this is just like his mom used to make. Very tasty rolls.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: DENISE FITZSIMMONS
I made these for my filipino boyfriend, they brought tears of joy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: TAANA34
I tried to make this recipe three times and failed each time. I did exactly what the recipe directed and it did not work.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LadyWilCook
Wow! I was very impressed. A Pan De Sal recipe that actually tasted like Pan De Sal! The whole family loved it... especially my Mom. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.161.40.41