My reviews (36)

Thai Fish Cakes

An easy and tasty fish cake. Makes a great entree, snack or party food. Serve with sweet chilli sauce for dipping.
Reviews (36)


31 May 2006
Reviewed by: dughr
This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I made some small changes to it. I started with 1.5 pounds of FRESH FRESH FRESH white fish, nothing canned and no dark oily fish like Salmon. Use Haddok or Sole maybe Halibut if price permits. Double the oyster sauce content, double the cilantro content to half cup. Use a tablespoon of molasses instead of Brown Sugar, it will help in the end. ANd lastly, if you can get your hands on a product called NAMPRIK PAO (Thai spelling) this will make the flavors explode. It is a paste found in a jar at many import Thai or oriental stores. A common brand name is MAERSI. Put in about 3 tablespoons of this and a little less of the sweet chile sauce and you will love this. Seems like a lot of changes but when I served this a close chef friend of mine from a noteworthy kitchen claimed these to be among the top 3 he had ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
19 Dec 2011
gilda said:
I haven't made this recipe yet but it sounds great but.....I can't stand coriander!!! It tastes like washing up liquid to me, is there anything else I can use. Thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
28 May 2009
Reviewed by: deannam
Very tasty and quick and easy to make
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK | Ireland)
10 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: J Wong
Great recipe. I love spicy food so I added 1 red chillie to the ingredient. It gave it a little kick and still tasted fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
20 Dec 2011
spookylean said:
Why not try Thai basil or even parsley?
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
24 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: sherifgh
This recipe was very bland. It tasted like nothing. We had to add sauces and other spices to make it taste like something! Flip side, if you dont mind experimenting with sauces and spices, it is very easy and quick to make. I do rec. lowering the heat though while frying or even.. bake it! (less oil and fat that way!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: kat228
These were good. I made no changes except I dipped the patties in Panko instead of dusting with flour before frying. I loved the addition of cilantro and sweet chili sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: SGTFIRSTWIFE
This recipe was wonderful!!! Very tasty. Even my two year old loved it. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Amy
Absolutely fantastic when made with dughr's suggestions!! In addition, I add a couple cloves of garlic and coat the cakes with italian bread crumbs, rather than flour. I make a dipping sauce with mayonnaise, red pepper and a touch of lime juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: MichelleMcD
Making for 4, I halved all the ingredients. But I've ended up with a sloppy mess in a bowl that will be impossible to turn into anything resembling fishcakes without adding lots of flour. Was the fish meant to be cooked first? That's the only way I can think to have got the mixture more dry and suitable for making into patties.....too late now, guests arriving shortly :-(
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK | Ireland)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches